Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default First Family RV Roadtrip Out West (Summer 2012)

Greetings Fellow Travel Enthusiasts!

I have finally secured a Class A 30’ RV for our first summer vacation out west. It will be my wife and our two 13-year old boys for 11 nights in late July/early August. We are from Florida so the heat shouldn’t be too much of a problem for us. However, this IS my first time driving an RV. We will be flying into Las Vegas and departing from Las Vegas. Up to this point, that is all we have secured. The two main places we would like to visit are Yosemite and the Grand Canyon, with a number of points in between. I have been reading posts in this forum and around the Internet and this is what I am thinking. I am looking for advice in all aspects of the plan. For instance, are we taking on too much? Anyway, here it goes:
    1. DAY 1: Depart from Las Vegas around 1pm on a Saturday. Head towards Yosemite. Take 95 Northwest for about 5 -6 hours and find a place to stay for the night.
    2. DAY 2: Drive another 1 – 2 hours and reach the East Yosemite entrance from Lee Vining. We already missed the window for reserving a spot to stay within the park. I have heard traffic can be crazy through the park over the summer, especially down in the valley. I was thinking perhaps we find a good place to stay with hookups around Lee Vining and use the free transportation in Yosemite to see the park.
      • To reach Yosemite, should we go through Death Valley instead? I think we wouldn’t get there until 4pm which would be too late to start through that section.
      • Any recommendations on where we should stay?
      • Should we drive through Yosemite with our 30’ RV and stay outside the West side of the park?
      • Should we try to get to Yosemite early and try for a first-come-first serve RV spot? I know there are no hookups and generators cannot be run after 7pm I think. In late July, would you need air conditioning at night?