1. Default New York to West Coast and back

I have 4 weeks off beginning in late June and wanted to take the following trip (for approximately 2 weeks): leave from Rochester, NY, then travel through Nashville, Memphis, Austin, Santa Fe, Phoenix, San Diego, San Francisco, and end in Portland, Or. I've never done a road trip before, but I feel that this may be way too ambitious and won't give me enough time to actually stop and explore. For the way back, I am not sure whether it was best to drop off a rental car and fly back (and pay the high drop charge), or drive back a more direct route (i.e. through Chicago).

As I said before, I am new to this type of trip, so any suggestions are more than welcome.

Tucson, AZ

Default Priorities

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

Well, I'm afraid you're right. This would be way too ambitious and wouldn't give you enough time to actually stop and explore. You would need about 11½ days just for the driving alone, giving you only about 2-3 hours per day (on average) for anything other than the basics of driving, fueling, eating, etc. It's ultimately your call, but to me that seems like a lot of effort for not much payoff. My general recommendation for such loop trips from coast to coast is for a three week minimum.

On the other hand there is an alternative to a one way rental (and attendant drop-off fee0 along with a relatively expensive one way flight, and that is to do the eastern half of your trip by air and then drive in the west. For example, you could book a round trip flight to Denver, or Minneapolis, or St. Louis, or Houston (all hubs for major airlines) and then do a 'local' car rental from there. This would save you on the order of four to six days of driving, skipping over the areas which you could drive to from home at some later date, and let you spend more of your time in the west.

3. Default