1. Default San Fran - LA - Las Vegas - Grand Canyon - Yellowstone

I was wondering if this trip is possible starting around 12th April? The link below is to the map I have created of the trip..except it doesn't include traveling back from Yellowstone to Salt Lake City as I couldn't do enough waypoints!

I have NO experience roadtripping so I'd be really grateful if anyone could suggest how long each leg of the trip would take and how much I might expect spend?

San Fran - LA (Coastal route)
    LA - Las Vegas
    Las Vegas - Zion NP
    Zion NP - Grand Canyon
    Grand Canyon - Monument Valley
    Monument Valley - Arches NP/Moab
    Arches/Moab - Salt Lake City
    Salt Lake - Bonneville - Salt Lake
    Salt Lake - Yellowstone - Salt Lake

Thanks to anyone that shares their thoughts!

Tucson, AZ

Default Except...

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

Unfortunately, Yellowstone usually does not open to casual (non-snow) travelers until late April or early May, so you'll be running the distinct chance of arriving there and not being able to get in. You can check on actual conditions as the date approaches, but at best it will be cold and the park will still have significant snow cover.

3. Default

Sadly you might be right. But if we are lucky if April isn't too cold, it will be open by the 20th and if we get there towards the end of the month at least the Old Faithful area will be worth a visit?

This bit of the trip could be left to the last minute I suppose..

South of England.

Default A plan 'B' perhaps ?

How much time have you for the trip ?

It's usually mid May into June before Yellowstone is fully operational and it could be real tricky in April, plus it's a long way away from your other destinations. It shouldn't put you off all together, but it's worth considering other options. I'm pretty sure it's gonna be cold, but could also be spectacular in the solitude !!