Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default I am planning to drive from Chicago to Portland this coming December 25th

I am planning to drive from Chicago to Portland this coming December 25, 2011. I feel nervous of the trip since it is my first time to drive across the country. Which route will be the best one in winter? I read a lot of posts and it seems to me I-80 then I-84 is a good choice. But am I capable to drive through those mountain area with my toyota rav4 ? The suv is in good shape, but I don't have experience with snow condition. please give me some tips and advice thanks.

Green County, Wisconsin

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

First of all, certainly you can make this drive, no matter what car you have. The Interstates are used year round by thousands of people every day, they all have limited grades and curves designed for fully loaded semi's to get up and down with ease, even in winter. In the event of a winter storm, they get first priority for plowing and will only close if a storm is so severe that plows simply can't keep up.

For a route, you'd have a couple of choices, either I-80/84 as you mentioned, or I-90 (and/or I-94) to US-395 to I-84. I-90 does cross the rockies at a lower elevation, but your best bet will be to look at the weather forecast as you leave and decide which of those options gives you the best likelyhood of good weather.

3. Default Thanks Michael,

can I take it for a 2 days trip?

Tucson, AZ

Default Four or Five

There is simply no way that you can drive the 2100+ miles between Chicago and Portland (OR) in two days. that would take 4 days minimum and you should keep a fifth day in hand in the event that you run into a storm that exceeds your driving abilities

Green County, Wisconsin

Default not on your life