1. Default Advise on long trip please. Tacoma to Atlanta via L.A.

Hi everybody,
    I did my first trip ever camping along the way from Atlanta to the Grand Canyon and it was a nice experience and a learning opportunity. Thanks to everyone who gave me advise

Now I am planning yet another trip. A longer expedition for sure. I want to fly to Seattle/Tacoma, visit my sons there and drive back my old Miata (which my son is giving back to me) to Atlanta. I also plan to camp along the way.
    Since the time is close to winter, I thought it would be a safer bet weather wise to drive down I-5 to L.A. and turn left and drive through AZ, pick up I-10 and drive through TX, LA, MS and AL back home.

It's a 3500 mile drive, but I think I'm up for it. However, I'm totally new to driving and camping along the Pacific coast and I would appreciate any and all advise as to what I might expect weather wise and in all other aspects. Thanks in advance!

I can give you some advice to get around the bulk of the L.A. traffic - get over to Bakersfield and take CA-58 to US-395 to I-15 to I-215 to I-10.

You are adding about 800 miles to your trip by going south. If time is not an issue, you may want to take US-101 south along the coast instead of I-5 through the Siskiyous. You could even take the PCH (CA-1) for some great sightseeing, and it would be a blast in a Miata. You can pick that up in Leggett and take it all the way to SF, cross the Golden Gate, and then take it south to Cambria. CA-46 will get you from there to Bakersfield.

Default the big myth

Quote Originally Posted by hobbit View Post
    Since the time is close to winter, I thought it would be a safer bet weather wise to drive down I-5 to L.A. and turn left and drive through AZ, pick up I-10 and drive through TX, LA, MS and AL back home.