1. Default Leaf Peeping for the first time from Orlando to... Tenessee or New York?

Hi! I'm new to Road Trip America. My husband and I would like to take our kids possibly in an RV to see all the Fall Foliage this November. we only have about 6 days to go from Orlando and back. We are debating going from orlando to New York (central Park), or from Orlando to maybe the Tenessee/ West Virginia area.

I need advice on the best routes to take seeing the most leaves, and fast and scenic routes. Are we crazy to attempt New York?
    Please help!!

Default Timing is everything in leaf-peeping

Hello kajjbrock,

My hometown of Raleigh, NC is but 300' above sea level, so latitude is the primary difference between seasonal temperatures here vs Eastern Seaboard cities to both north and south. Here in Raleigh, our leaves are mostly down by early November, certainly all gone by mid- November. Our color peaks by about the 3rd to 4th week of October.

In the high Smokies along the NC-TN border, you're looking at peak color in early October. Mid-October in the slightly lower Blue Ridge Mountains of west-central and northwest NC. In each case, by early November, the leaves are wholly off the trees.

West Virginia is north of here and holds elevations between 2,500 and 5,000', so I strongly suspect the leaves will be down by early November up there, too.

I would not expect Central Park in NYC to have much if anything remaining in terms of leaves in November. Perhaps somebody else can provide more direct experience.

I think your best bet in November would be the southernmost Appalachians, with northern Georgia, north Alabama, and southeast Tennessee. There you might have some good color for the first half of November. In Alabama, the Cheaha Scenic Drive follows Cheaha Mountain for around 30 miles, and is sort of a "mini Blue Ridge Parkway" with views of the valleys 1,500-1,800' below, and with other forested ridges visible.

Western/Central Massachusetts