Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default San Francisco to Yosemite, Death Valley and Vegas in early November

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to this site but already an addict... hoping you can all help.

We're coming over from the UK at the beginning of November and planning a road trip from San Francisco into Yosemite and on to Vegas via Death Valley. Is this feasible at this time of year or are certain roads blocked due to weather? We're leaving San Francisco on Monday 7 Nov.

Any recommendations in terms of the best route to take, duration and stop off points along the way would be brilliant. I've read that the route/distance all depends on whether the Tioga pass is open but I guess this is hard to predict?

Thanks in advance everyone.

Joplin MO

How many days can you allow for this trip?

The odds are about 50/50 that the Tioga Pass will be open, and you may need tire chains in Yosemite. If Tioga is not feasible, you can either go north to CA-88 or US-50 towards Lake Tahoe to get across the Sierras to US-395, or you can go south to Bakersfield and get across on CA-178 or CA-58.

If Tioga (CA-120) is closed, CA-108 and CA-4 will probably be closed too.

Bottom line - at this time of year you will need to be flexible and have a way to monitor conditions. Caltrans has a website and a free call number for current road conditions.

3. Default

Hi there. Thanks for the reply.

We were planning on leaving San Francisco early morning Mon 7th Nov, arriving into Vegas on the evening of Wed 9th. This plan was based on other stuff we've read but I guess all depends on Tioga being open?

Schedule is pretty tight as we'll have been in the US for 9 days at that point - flying in to LA, few days there, then travelling up to SF via Santa Barbara, Big Sur, Monteray.

Open to suggestions regarding the best route - everyone has said Yosemite is a must, but I guess we could cut out Death Valley if it's not as highly recommended?

Your advice really is appreciated, thanks.