Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default My Great Sept. American road trip, GA to Grand Canyon, input please

Although I'm not a novice to long car trips, this trip I'm planning is a new experience for me. I've always wanted to see the Grand Canyon and some of the other beautiful places of this great country. Now I have some time and would like to take a road trip from Atlanta to NM/CO. I would just take in the countryside, take photographs and generally enjoy the trip.

My plan is to take my Ford pickup and drive to interesting spots along the way and camp out overnight where I can, probably dispersed areas in NF and BLM lands or State parks. I've never really been a camper although I've spent the night in a tent a few times. I plan on a 2 week trip taking I-40 West from TN (after I get there from GA) and returning South to Gila and Big Bend before turning East and returning perhaps via I-10 and then North from LA.

I would appreciate any tips of must see places, cautions, warnings, advise, etc. I am particularly interested in what the weather might be in September along my route and at my destinations so I can plan my tent, sleeping bag. clothes, etc., appropriately. This is my rig as set up for overnight stays.

Thanks!

tent4.jpg

tent5.jpg
    Last edited by hobbit; 08-01-2011 at 07:34 PM.

September is a lovely time for camping out - - most areas have cooled down a little bit (or at least, we HOPE so). There are some great places to camp along your route - BLM lands, National Forest lands, etc. You can find directories online or for purchase, of these types of campsites, and one would be a good idea to take along on your trip. You might consider state park campgrounds, too.