Default Driving from Los Angeles to Atlanta in October

Hey everyone,

Newbie here. Just wanted to know if anyone has driven from Los Angeles to Atlanta. I am very excited about this road-trip, partly because I will be driving my car, which I have just got from Australia (I will be in the USA for 8 months, and plan to drive my car here, it has Australian number plates and is right hand drive - which I am hoping won't be too much of an issue. I will be shipping the car back to Australia in March-April next year). I have set aside 5 days to complete the journey from LA to Atlanta. Is that sufficient or do I need a few more days? (I will be travelling with my girlfriend and another couple, so we will have 4 drivers).

I have never driven this route before, although I have driven from Atlanta to New York (and back), and Atlanta to Missoula (MT), Bismarck (ND) and back to Atlanta, so I am familiar with the US road system, rest stops, toll roads etc.

Anyway..I would really like to know more about where to stop, how many motels/hotels I need to book and the availability of diesel fuel at gas stations along the way (as the car is a ML Class diesel SUV).
    Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks guys!

Default From One Aussie to Another.

Hi, and Welcome to the Great American RoadTrip Forum.

Five days will make for a relaxed journey with the posibility of some sightseeing along the way. You should not have any difficulty getting diesel fuel along the way, especially if you are doing most of your driving on the interstates. There are not many places which do not sell diesel.

But what I would like to know is, what is involved in taking your own car across the Pacific? As in what paperwork? timeframe? and costs? I would not have thought that it would be worth it for (up to) just eight months.

And whereabouts in Melbourne??

Lifey in Essendon