1. Default Driving from San Fran to Yosemite to Death Vally to Las Vegas!

Hi,

At the end of July we are driving from San Fran to Yosemite (staying 2 nights in Curry Village) through Death Valley (staying 1 night in Stovepipe Wells) and on to Las Vegas (dropping car off at the airport) and would love some advice on the best route to take and journey times. I have no experience of driving in California, I am from a very small Island with no freeways and a speed limit of 40 miles (!) so am a little bit apprehensive about the journey! Any tips would be very gratefully received!

Thanks a million for your help,

Kate : )

Default Very popular.

Hello and welcome to the RTA forums !

That's a nice trip plan you have and you will be in for some wonderful scenic drives. Allow up to 5 hours from SF depending on where you are starting from and traffic. If you exit over Bay bridge [I80 ] to I580/205/5 to Manteca and then take CA120 into Yosemite. From Yosemite exit over the Tioga pass [CA120] to US395 and head South to Lone Pine and then CA136/190 to Stovepipe Wells. Continue on 190 to DV junction and then take State line/Ash Meadows /Bell Vista Rd to Pahrump and 160 to Vegas. From Yosemite to Vegas take your time and enjoy the views and sight seeing opportunity's, you won't want to rush. Give yourself the day to enjoy Tioga pass and stops to Stovepipe wells and the next day to explore DV.

Have fun !

Default Easy does it

Quote Originally Posted by katokelly View Post
    I have no experience of driving in California, I am from a very small Island with no freeways and a speed limit of 40 miles (!) so am a little bit apprehensive about the journey! Any tips would be very gratefully received!