Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Chicago, IL to Sandpoint, ID in 2 weeks

Just found this forum today with lots of great info! I am flying out of Orange County in two weeks to pickup a truck from Ford in Detroit. Then, I will head over to Chicago to visit family. From there I am heading to Sandpoint, Idaho to spend time with friends for the fourth of July. I will be driving a 2011 Ford Super Duty F250.

After looking at maps and reading trip reports, I am still unsure of my route. I'd like to make it from Chicago to Idaho in 3 days. I am considering the I90 or I94. I've already been to Yellowstone so I'm not interested in that particularly. Badlands would be cool but I am mostly seeking the safer, quicker route because I've never done this before and will be driving an unknown vehicle. Its new though so don't for see any problems with it.

I've heard the more north I94 offers much more fuel stops? True? Which has better lodging? I don't plan on staying at the Four Seasons the whole way but Holiday Inn Express or something like that would be good over a trashy dump motel.

Any thoughts on the I90 versus I94 would be a huge help and thank you!

Jordan

Welcome!

There are pros and cons to both. I-94 is about 1/2 hour faster according to my mapping software, but that doesn't account for possible delays getting through the Twin Cities in MN.

Either way, 3 days is possible, but it will be 3 pretty long days - 600 miles, which would be somewhere between 10 and 12 hours, depending on how fast you want to drive that brand new truck and how many stops you make.

If you take I-94, my software breaks up the overnights to Fergus Falls MN and Custer MT. However, from a practical standpoint, you would want to make that Fargo ND and Billings MT, both of which have a wide selection of hotels to choose from.

If you take I-90, your first overnight would be Sioux Falls SD (large selection), the second would be Billings.