Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Default Which car to rent?

Newbie here!

I'm trying to decide which car to hire for our upcoming road trip. It's a 5 weeks trip starting late September (taking in places like Las Vegas, Yellowstone, Badlands, Rocky Mountains, Grand Canyon, ...).

We've always thought of getting an SUV for the comfort while driving, but now we're having to decide what size.

The intermediate SUV states it's a Ford Escape or similar. I'm worried that the trunk size may be too small (we're talking 1 medium suitcase and probably 2 duffel bags and some bits here and there like a back pack, 2 folding chair, ...).
    It's just the two of us travelling.

The standard SUV is a Jeep Grand Cherokee or similar. The trunk is a bit big bigger, 35 cubic feet vs 31 cubic feet according to the info I can find online on the latest models. But I can't quite imagine how much difference that really makes. However, it costs about $300 more for the 5 weeks and obviously the MPG is worse.

The info on the car rental website says that for the intermediate it would fit 2 suitcases, the standard would fit 4.

I think the bigger one might be more comfortable, being able to leave things in the boot and not on the back seat and all... Also, if you want to take a quick nap along the way, you can actually put your seats down completely.
    And I would on the one hand like the big car

But would it really make a big difference, worth the price difference (bearing in mind this is a very expensive vacation already and $300 plus the higher fuel cost is still a considerable amount of money)?
    Last edited by Midwest Michael; 05-06-2011 at 07:35 AM. Reason: Removed color

Default plenty plus

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

I'll tell you that I've basically got an Escape and it has plenty of room for 3-4 adults and a weeks worth of camping gear. If you are arriving by plane, I simply can't imagine that you could bring enough luggage with you to fill up the trunk area of any SUV!