Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default West to East Coast with stops -

I've been poking around this wonderful site for the past month, reading everything I could (particularly regarding destinations we are heading for), and trying to answer some queries on the forums. My husband and I have been road-tripping since we were married 33 years ago, and before that, I traveled extensively with my parents who were both teachers and had summers off. My husband and I have done the motel-restaurant vacation, camping/motel combination vacations, have had both a pop-up tent trailer and a 5th wheel travel trailer, and for right now we're RV-less.

The upcoming trip is from our home in San Diego County, to my brother's in NJ. (We like to say we each live on the ocean, but in reality, each of us is 30 miles from the ocean!) We're making a stop in Phoenix to see my parents, then hightailing it straight to NJ (no sightseeing outside of what's along the roadside). This trip is motel-restaurant, and staying with family 3x.

In NJ, we are planning on 9 days. One day is for the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Another day is for the Metropolitan Museum of Art (which has intrigued me since I first read a fiction book for children, From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler.). A third day will be spent seeing a few other NYC sites that interest us, and ending the day with a Broadway musical (if we can get decent tickets). A fourth day will be for anything we've missed.

That's our first question: There are tours available, of Carnegie Hall and of Lincoln Center. I LOVE theater, but my chances of seeing a show at either one is nil due to our timing. Backstage is what I'd like to see anyway (I currently direct children's musical theater). WHICH tour is more worthwhile? I don't think we'll have time to do both.