1. Default First Road-trip: Haunted Midwest

My sister and I are going on a week-long roadtrip and, since I've never done this before, I'm a bit paranoid. I feel like I've done my homework: I made all the reservations (this trip is to visit haunted locations, which include certain hotels and B&B's) and I've printed out directions and local maps and put them in a binder with our reservation information.

This is a vacation, so we will be driving only about three to five hours each day to each location. We'll be able to eat breakfast at most of the hotels, we're bringing along a cooler with snacks and some lunch items, and we're planning to eat dinner at whatever non-chain place that looks good.

We're both pretty similar in personality, so I don't think we'll get on ech other's nerves too much. I've also over-budgeted time for each "activity" and gave us plenty of down-time each night so we can have some flexibility.

We've got a week to go before we set off, so is there any last minute stuff that I might not know about?

Joplin MO

What is your proposed itinerary?

If one of your proposed haunted sites is the Joplin Spooklight, I'd recommend you cancel that part. There are no hotel rooms within 50 miles of here due to the tornado and it would be best that you stay out of town for now.

3. Default

The itenerary is: Lafayette, IN to St. Louis, MO to Hannibal, MO to Independence/Kansas City, MO to Villisca, IA, to Dubuque, IA to Prarie du Chien, WI to Wisconsin Dells (not so much haunted as just for fun) to Chicago back to Lafayette.

We're not anywhere close to Joplin, but we would have reworked the itenerary if we were. I think tourists are the last thing that town needs as they rebuild.

Joplin MO