Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Summer trip qs

1. Default Summer trip qs

Hey all,
    I am planning my first cross country road trip from MN to NY and am driving solo. I have never done a long road trip before, let alone a solo one, and was wondering how far is safe to drive in one day? The trip according to google maps is 1227 miles one way. Any other tips for driving solo (saving money, entertainment, fatigue busting...) would be highly appreciated!
    Thanks!

One of the most effective ways to save money on a road trip, is to make sure you accelerate gently, keep your speed down, and anticipate stops rather than braking hard. (60-65mph has been shown to be the most fuel efficient speed.) There is no shortage of budget accommodation along the route, and one of the best things you can do is to pick up the hotel/motel coupon books, usually found at rest areas, travel plazas and welcome centres.

As a solo driver make sure you get out of the car at regular intervals to stretch the limbs and keep the blood circulating. Even if you only spend 10 minutes walking around the travel plazas along the turnpike. Pennsylvania in particular is a beautiful state to cross, and if you have the time, it pays to get off I-80 for a change of pace and scenery.

It is a trip which can comfortably be enjoyed in three days, or done as a hard slog in two.

Drive safely.

Lifey
    Last edited by Southwest Dave; 05-26-2011 at 04:42 AM. Reason: Typo

Default Horses for courses.

Hello and welcome to the RTA forums !

I have never done a long road trip before, let alone a solo one, and was wondering how far is safe to drive in one day?