Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Exchange Rates

Default Exchange Rates

Note: This is a continuation of a conversation that started here.

I am not an expert on exchange rates, though I have been keeping a close watch on them in anticipation of my next trip. And I don't know which site you use to check.

It certainly was not the case when I was at the main exchange at the airport a week or two ago. (It is pretty well where the best rates are always available for cash conversions.) By taking only US dollars, I got considerably more than I would have got in Canadian dollars.

I have heard anicdotally, from travellers, that by not changing the money here, you won't get the same rates when overseas. Not sure how all that works. All I know is, that here we are still getting more US dollars for our buck, than we do Canadian $$.

And I am not surprised that the price of the gps has come down. Good ones are well below $250 here also.

Lifey
    Last edited by Midwest Michael; 05-18-2011 at 06:18 AM.

I've never known an airport to be a good place to get a fair exchange rate. In your case, specifically, I'm sure they simply do a lot more business in US$ compared to CAN$, and that's why you're getting a better rate for US$. I suspect your airport gets a lot of US travelers who change their money there, and it is easier/cheaper for them to sell those US$ to you, rather than to take them to their bank to convert them back.

I was using the calculations based on market rate information provided by Google. If you are exchanging money at a bank, you should get a return that is similar to the market rate. That's also a reason why using Credit Cards/ATMs are a great way to buy things in a foreign country. There will typically be some sort of percentage fee, but you'll get the most accurate exchange rate, and the fees you get charged from a bank/card transaction are typically similar to, or less than you'd get from changing cash.