Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Manchester, United Kingdom, United Kingdom

Default Under 25 year-old driver, 3 months LA-NY, buy or rent?

Hi, a little about myself, i'm 21, finished uni last june and im about to head out to the states for 3 months with 2 of my best friends!

Our dates our April 7th - July 5th.

Got our route sorted, we just need to sort our car now, our orginal plan was to buy a car and sell it at the end, but after reading some posts here and other sites/forums it looks nearly impossible to do so. So that leaves us with renting, but since everywhere i've looked has a $25 a year charge for under 25's it ends up being an expensive 3 months!

the best quote i've had so far is from carhire3000 which is £3250 ($5200) for 3 months for intermediate (dodge challenger) which includes YDF, taxes and a full tank of fuel.

Our original budget for the car was £2500 so its still a little over what we wanted to pay, but since i have no experience of renting a car in the US i have no idea if we can get better than that

Any help would be great

Welcome!

You will almost always get the best rates from consolidators in the UK rather than directly from the agencies here. Have you looked into lesser classes of vehicles? A Dodge Challenger is a specialty class of vehicle, and actually is not very comfortable for more than 2 people.

sorry my mistake its a 'dodge charger or similar' or i think we can get a smaller suv 'saturn vue' or 'jeep liberty' for around £200 more on the rental cost (not sure how much this would affect the taxes/insurance)

edit: oh and carhire3000.com is a uk based booker

A Charger is a comfortable sedan. You could probably go smaller, as long as it's a 4 door car.

i think ive got the quote down to £2600 for a saturn vue, its a YDF package and also includes full tank of gas, just waiting on how much the one way fee would be, im thinking its gonna be $250 or $500 - this is alot closer to our budget :)