1. Default Newbie Here. Planning RT from NY to Myrtle Beach with 2 small kids ages 5 & 2.

I'm hoping I get a decent amount of responses because I could really use the advice. We've decided to take a road trip from NY to Myrtle Beach during Spring Break. Our plan was to leave late afternoon (4-5p) drive halfway (5-6 hours) then stop overnight and continue in the morning until reaching our destination with a few stops along the way. My husband and I have never driven south before and I'm a big history/architecture buff and he's a major foodie. What are some stops off the main highway that would interest both of us & the kids. Any recommendations for sites, restaurants and overnight stops would be greatly appreciated. Right now, I'm feeling pretty overwhelmed with the abundance of information found on-line. Thanks again!

Tucson, AZ

Default Day of the Week?

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

Well, the first thing that I noticed about your plan was the expectation that you'll get a good way down the road on the first afternoon/evening and then complete the trip the next day. Normally, that would be a perfectly fine. But in this particular case, 4 or 5 hours from New York will put you in the heart of Baltimore/Washington and make the next morning's resumption of driving problematic. If you are doing this on a weekday, you will be trying to drive through the heart of some of the worst rush hour traffic there is. Both beltways can slow to a crawl or even less. You'll be considerably better off on a Saturday or Sunday morning, but still you need to be aware of where you'll be pulling up for the night.