1. Default Las Vegas to Seattle via Los Angeles, San Francisco, Portland

This is my first time posting on the forum but I have been an avid reader of the site and forums while planning my trip. This site is fantastic! I think I have almost got everything worked out and I hoped perhaps someone more experienced could cast an eye over my suggested route and timings? I have got these timings from Google Maps.

We are travelling late April to early May this year, we are renting a car, there’s just the two of us in our 30s from Britain, we are fairly adventurous but would like to stay somewhere reasonably clean and comfortable each night. Only one of us drive so we will be unable to share the driving.

We would rather travel on smaller more scenic routes up the coast unless there are areas that are nothing special and worth skipping. However we also want to have a nice time with enough time to stop several times a day to explore/have lunch/etc. We plan on starting off each day around 9am and getting to our destination before 6pm.

This is our suggested itinerary:

Las Vegas to Los Angeles:
    Las Vegas to Death Valley - 3 hours (Stay the night)
    Death Valley to Los Angeles - 5 hours (Stay three nights)

Los Angeles to San Francisco:
    Los Angeles to Big Sur – 6 hours (Stay the night)
    Big Sur to San Francisco – 3 hours (Stay three nights)

San Francisco to Portland:
    San Francisco to Mendocino via Napa or Point Reyes – 4 hours (Stay the night)
    Mendocino to Gold Beach – 6 hours (Stay the night)
    Gold Beach to Yachats – 5 hours (Stay the night)
    Yachats to Portland – 3 hours (Stay two nights)

Portland to Seattle:
    Portland to Seattle – 3 hours
    (Was wondering if it’s worth our while to make a detour to Columbia River Gorge?)

After staying in Seattle two nights we will then get the train on to Vancouver as we hear the drop-off fee when you leave the car over the border is large so we will leave the car in Seattle.

My worries are: