1. Default Road trip from Seattle to Orlando

Hello everyone. I am planning on a road trip from Seattle to Orlando the end of January. I moved here after graduating, and for my girlfriend, but things aren't working out. I shipped my car up and flew out when I came here. I'm really determined to do a road trip this time, and really trying not to back out last minute.

I've never done a road trip before, and don't know too much of the United States to know any site-seeing spots or attractions to hit along the way. My planned route was to go to Portland, San Fransisco, Los Angeles, Las Vegas, San Antonio, Houston, to Orlando. Each spot I know family/friends that I'd be able to stay at.

From what it says, it will be around 3900 miles. I have read I should only drive 500 miles a day, which I plan to do. I don't think I could drive more than this each day. I have no time limit really, I might make this a month long adventure, shorter if it happens to be. I want to be in Los Angeles by February 4th to celebrate Chinese New Year with some family there. No date/time restrictions other than that.

Also, I have all my clothes and a few other of my personal items that I am taking back, so I believe my trunk will be full. Will this be an issue at all? I have a Mazda 6, so it is not a very large vehicle. I plan on getting it serviced before the trip.

What things should be a necessity to take, other than snacks, bottled water, phone charger, first-aid kit. I have a FM-transmitter for my ipod already for music. I want to be prepared for emergencies though, worst-case scenarios.

I'm open for all help and suggestions. The longest I've ever drove was from Orlando to Atlanta, which was about a 430 mile drive, I think it took about 7 hours.

2. Default