Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Planning a 4 day trip along historic HWY 49 in CA Gold Country...need suggestions

We are planning a 4 day summer 2011 roadtrip along historic Hwy 49 starting in Oakhurst, CA and ending in Vinton, CA. I'm looking for suggestions on what are some Must see attractions along the way. Also looking for hotel recommendations, we will be staying one night each in about 4 hotels

We will be taking our four kids along, ages 6, 8 & 9yr old twins. Any suggestions for kid friendly must see's?

Thank You!

Tucson, AZ

Default Out of the Ordinary

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

I believe that this is my first time, in over 6 years of trying to answer questions on this forum, that I have seen this route mentioned. So, first my congratulations on finding a unique RoadTrip for your children. I suspect that you already know more about your route and what lies along it than we do, but here are some suggestions anyway. The area around Placerville is famous for its place in the history of the California Gold Rush, so something along the lines of the Gold Bug Mine and the El Dorado County Historical Museum would be in order, A little farther south, in the Angels Camp area, the Angels Camp Museum and Carriage House, and the California Caverns offers a very rugged Middle Earth tour if you're all in shape. And then at the southern end is the pièce de résistance: Yosemite National Park. As I often recommend here for children roughly the age of your own, check in at the Ranger Station or Visitor Center and sign them up for the Junior Ranger Program.

South of England.

Default Some useful links.

When I was looking to drive this route the last time in the area, I came across some good resources but actually never got to drive the route due to time restraints, so I hope you will come back and share your experience with us.