1. Default California to Oregon...which route should I take?

I'm in San Jose and a frequent...uh, frequenter of San Francisco if that's an easier landmark for you to be familiar with. I'm going to be moving to Portland, Oregon this week by car. I have a 2001 Civic with something like 135,000 miles on it with no experience driving in the snow (despite the fact that I'm from Canada, haha).

The way I see it I have two options.

1. Take I-5. Shorter and more straightforward mountain route. More of a chance for snow, though I hear it takes until December for it to get really in season for winter along this way. Checking out webcam forecasts showed mostly rain right now. Still, I'd have to get chains just in case, which I have no experience with.

2. Take 101. Coastal route that's very scenic with almost no chance of heavy snow, but longer and winding.

Thing is, I would like to do this in a day with no stops except to eat. Yeah, I know it's advised to not rush, but I'm by myself and am not really in this to take my time and enjoy the landmarks. As a starving college student money is very tight and I don't want to do any hotels.

Which would you advise?

Default only one option

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

To do this trip in a day, you only have one choice: I-5. The coastal highway is just way too slow of a route to complete trip like this in 1 day (in fact making this trip in 2 days along the coast would be difficult).