1. Default Summer 2011 month long trip

I'm trying to determine how feasible this idea is:
    I would like to do a month long road trip out west (I'm in Minnesota) and spend time between Washington and Oregon. I'd like to camp as much as possible, not only because that is the point of the trip, but also to drive costs down (because I'm a college student). I have no idea how much this might cost. Any similar experiences with advice out there?

WA and OR can be great places for cheap campgrounds. Most are $10-20/night, with Forest Service campgrounds almost always being the least expensive (some are even free -- although you also sometimes get what you pay for). One of my favorite campgrounds ever, though, was a NFS property on the Umpqua River in Southern Oregon: right on the river and $5/night. Made me want to take up fly fishing. FWIW, unfortunately, for some reason most of the (non-private) campgrounds in WA/OR don't have showers, so you might have to make a plan to handle that situation.

Green County, Wisconsin

Welcome to the RTA forum!

Really the first couple things you need to do to take your rough idea and turn it into an actual roadtrip are: figure out how much time/money you'll actually have available, figure out a realistic budget, and figure out where it is you want to go and what you want to do.