1. Default Trip to see the Giant Sequoias in January from NC with 5 kids - bad idea?

I'm a farmer in eastern NC and am planning a trip out west the winter with my wife and 5 daughters. I'm searching for suggestions on where to go and what to see and the best route on the way there. Thanks.

Green County, Wisconsin

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

There is basically only one place in the world to see the Sequoias, and that's on the western slope of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. The largest (both in number and in size) are in Sequoia National Park, but there are also some found in the Sequoia National Monument and Yosemite. All of these are in mountain areas, and while they will be open, you will be required to carry chains to access any of those areas.

As far as getting there from North Carolina, you're looking at a minimum of 5-6 days on the road each way, with the most direct route following I-40. Of course, its January, which means there is a pretty good likelyhood of seeing some winter conditions as you travel across country - which will be true no matter which route you go.

That's the basics, now pretty much everything else is up to you. There is no one sized fits all plan for a trip like this, and your next step really is to simply look at what you've got available for time, and grab a map to start looking for things across the country that would fit your specific interest.

Once you've got some ideas laid out, we can certainly help you put it all together.

3. Default

My main concern would be the snow. Would there be lots of it at the elevation the trees are?

Joplin MO

Quote Originally Posted by NCFARMER View Post
    My main concern would be the snow. Would there be lots of it at the elevation the trees are?
    There can be. You just can't predict conditions in advance.

5. Default With 5 girls?!

All I have are 3 words for you... National Lampoon's Vacation.

Just kidding, have fun!

Default Howdy Neighbor