1. Default East Coast road trip in early October!

Hello all!

I am from Illinois. I'm a new poster here. I found this website by googling "road trip tips". I'm so glad I found it! Tons of great info here!

Hubby and I are going on a road trip in early October and since this is the longest road trip we've ever taken, we need a ton of help and advice. :-) We are total newbies when it comes to road tripping. Hubby has taken a few trips out to the East coast from Chicago but the longest I've been in a car is 6 or 7 hours so... it's going to be interesting. We do plan to take plenty of breaks and to drive only during the day. We don't plan to be on the road for more than 8 hours at a time. We are so excited!

Anyway, my question for you readers is not really about the road or the driving but it's about staying in hotels. So as you might have heard there is a bed bug scare going on right now. Well we are going to be on and off the road for 8 days. In those 8 days we'll be staying at 5 different hotels. I am very concerned that we might run into these little guys. Now I've read just about every article online about bed bugs... how they look, how to find them, how to kill them, etc etc... But I guess my question to you is should I be paranoid? (I'm already planning on checking the room out before we even put our things down.)

So, yes, in all your travels, have bed bugs ever ruined your trip? Any tips you have for us in avoiding these buggers?

Thank you in advance for your advice. :-)

South of England.

Default Be cautious, don't worry.

Hello and welcome to the RTA forums !

It would appear that you probably know more about bed bugs than us lot put together ! It's something I have not thought about or come across in my travels. I have heard it is more of a problem in Hostels, where people carry there own bedding/sleeping bags and could transfer the little blighters, but even then I don't think it is a major issue.