1. Default non resident car purchase

Hi We are coming to visit our son in Vancouver next year and rather than pay $1500 for car rental we have decided to purchase a used car/truck/suv and gift it to him when we return to UK.What is the best way of doing this buy in Vancouver or Seattle and what taxes would we have to pay,i would use his address for registration and bring my own insurance from UK ( if possible to do ).
    We would have about US$10k to spend.

South of England.

Default "Gifting".

Hello and welcome to the RTA forums !

We have had many overseas visitors asking about purchasing a car for a road trip, but normally they do not have a registration address and have to sell it at the end of the trip, making it almost impossible to do.

I am no expert, but rather than "gifting" the car to your son at the end of the trip it might be better to purchase it in his name at the start. The only downside would be that any accident you may be involved in might affect his insurance liability.

I am sure someone could come along who is better informed, but I thought I would say "Hi" anyway.

Green County, Wisconsin

I agree with Dave that buying a car in your son's name is going to be a whole lot easier than trying to purchase a car yourself.

You're pretty much going to have to buy the car in Canada, as if you buy one in the US you would not be able to use his address or even give the car to him without going through a whole mess of Importation Paperwork and Fees. (also a car with a Speedometer in miles likely won't be as valuable in metric Canada)