Default Aussie's heading from San Fran to Canada in Dec! Advice please!

Hi everyone! This is my first time on this forum. My hubby, myself and 4 kids are flying into San Fran from Melbourne Australia mid December 2010. We are renting an SUV and driving up towards Spokane Washington to Trail BC Canada. The rental company has told us that they will only provide all year round tires as opposed to winter tires. Do you think that we will need chains for some of the passes. Although we will be trying to head up as quickly as possible, is there any "must see" places along the way?
    Any advice would be welcome. We have driven through the states before but not at this time of year.

Welcome to the Forum! The collective knowledge of those posting here is amazing, so you're in the right place for trip advice. I can't help you answer your tire/chains question, but I can give you two pieces of advice on places you might want to see along the way:

1. If you're going to stop in the Sonoma/Napa region to taste some wines, I recommend checking out the Castello di Amorosa winery, which is in the Calistoga area at the north end of the Napa Valley. The tour is amazing -- it's a medieval castle with lots of cool stuff to see, plus the wine is great. And if you're feeling adventurous, stop in Calistoga to get a mud bath. It's a very weird thing to do, and that's the place to do it.

2. I'm assuming you'll be driving north along US-101 in northern California. If so, don't miss the Avenue of the Giants. It's a scenic alternate route that goes through Humboldt Redwoods State Park, which is the home to some of the oldest growth redwoods in California. The trees are massive, and the scenic route is well worth it. The Avenue is well marked, it runs parallel to US-101 (sometimes crossing over and under it), and it's easy to get back on US-101 at the end of the Avenue.

Happy trip planning!

Tucson, AZ

Default What's Important?

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!