Default time for our next adventure

Howdy!
    I'm starting to plan this years fall roadtrip. This will be our summer vacation EVER. I work in the road building industry (35 years), so usually no time off in the summer. Usually we take the Corvette, or fly and drive, but THIS time we're gonna take the motorhome that we just bought. (starting to plan for retirement) Heres the jist of it. Duluth Mn to Glacier NP vis US 2--Glacier down through Yellowstone and into the Tetons NP--through Jackson on to Casper--continue on to Gillette, Custer SD, Rapid City and back to northern Mn via freeway. The first two days and the last two days will probably be 600 miles per, but that will give us 5 days in the mountains. Anyone know of any good stuff happening out that way this fall, or know of any major road closure/detours?
    We're really looking forward to see what the northern part of the country is like in the summer.

Wish us luck!!

Rod & Judy
    Attached Images Attached Images

Welcome!

600 miles a day off the Interstates is driving just a bit too much, I think Duluth to Glacier taking US-2 all the way is more like a 3 day drive. How long, wide, and tall is that RV? You may not be allowed on the Going-to the-Sun road with it - and if it's after September 19, there are planned closures. Yellowstone will also have planned fall closures.

If it's still open, the Beartooth Highway (US-212) out of Yellowstone to I-90 near Billings is well worth it. Driving the SD-240 loop through the Badlands from Wall is also worth it, and don't forget your free glasses of ice water at Wall Drug.

Rapid City to Duluth is only a day and a half via Interstates, and if you really had to push it, it could be done in one very long day. It's about 750 miles.

Default Rod and Judy Ness are RoadTripper Experts