Default from Seattle to Connecticut - and worried about the weather

Hi, all! I am brand new to RoadTripAmerica, I lucked upon this site while looking for info on the typical weather in the Northern US. I am planning a trip from WA/OR to CT likely sometime in early March. I assume that the weather will still be pretty cold and snowy in the northern areas past Seattle, and figured on driving a bit south before heading east.

My question is: how bad (typically) will the weather be if I am traveling along the Montana/Wyoming border and through S. Dakota? Am I likely to get slammed with bad storms? Would it make more sense weather-wise to leave from Portland, being a bit more south, and swing through Idaho/Wyoming/Nebraska? I can shift the time-frame of the trip a bit later, but would really prefer not to. I don't have a specific route planned out yet (obviously!) and would love any ideas and suggestions people have! Thanks!

Green County, Wisconsin

Default asking the impossible

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

You're hardly the first to ask such a question, but the reality is that there just is no way of knowing what weather you might see six months from now.

It would not be uncommon to see a winter storm across Montana or the Dakota, or really anywhere along your route in March, however, saying its typical would imply you're likely to see a storm on any given day, which really isn't the case at any time of year for any route.

Its also not any more likely that you'll see better weather by going south, as I-80 can and does see just as bad of storms as I-90 (and I-80 is actually at a higher elevation for most of the route across the west), even going all the way south to Southern California wouldn't provide any help as you'd first have to deal with the coastal mountains, and then I-40 and even I-10 can and do see winter storms and would add several days of travel which also increases your chances of seeing bad weather.