1. Default Wanting to take a roadtrip after graduation...

I'm a high school student, just starting out my senior year and I've wanted on and off for a while to go on a road trip, either alone or with a good friend (who I already know who it would be).
    Mostly, I've gotten positive results. Everyone I've told about it has said that would be really cool and that I should do it. Even my mother, which is a huge surprise (I still think she's only saying this because she's pretty sure it's another phase that I'm going through). I've never even been out of the state alone, so I am a little bit nervous about the idea but I think it would be good for me.
    Mostly, I'm looking for advice on how much money I would need to save (especially since I probably won't be able to go right after graduating from High school due to some sort of funky things with my school that will have me graduating in December of next year and starting college in the spring. That way, I'll have a lot of time.).
    I want it to be an open-ended trip that spans at least 2 or 3 months...just sort of getting up in the morning, looking at a map and a collection of cool site-seeing places that I'm interested in, and deciding where I want to go. While I know that sounds sort of unreasonable for a first-time roadtripper, I think I'd get stressed or bored if I had to set an itinerary and stay in reserved motel rooms all the time.

So, just any advice or thoughts on how to go about this would be great! Also, just encouragement. I've been known to think and even obsess about things for months, but then lose all interest. I do this a lot, but I really think this would be something I wouldn't regret.

Tucson, AZ

Default The Important Numbers

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!