1. Default Death Valley -- Big Pine Road?

Am planning to drive from Las Vegas to San Francisco though Death Valley and Yosemite.

I have little off road experience and no 4x4 car. Is this route possible?

Google Maps

Thanks a lot,

Joplin MO

I have never driven that route, but the official park map shows a substantial portion as "unpaved" and "high clearance recommended". If you are driving a rental, you would be in violation of your rental agreement. I suspect that it should be passable in a standard automobile but I sure wouldn't want to try it without checking with the park rangers first.

I just found a thread on that says that the unpaved sections are pretty heavily washboarded and a SUV is recommended. I also found a site that says you must check first, the road conditions are constantly changing and it is subject to washouts after storms, even high clearance 4x4's would have problems then.

South of England.

Default Same here.

Hello and welcome to the RTA forums !

I also haven't driven this road but have come up with the same info as above. It can be heavily wash boarded and although it might be possible to drive in a "normal" car at times, I wouldn't do so without the say so of a Ranger or experienced local. As I understand it, sharp rocks and road tyres don't go well together, so if you did head through make sure you have a spare in good shape, a good jack and tools to do the job. In the summer it will be extremely hot so carry Lot's of water and snacks as well as suncream and a hat.

If it is a rental it is a no go anyway, and if your car hasn't got good ground clearance you could loose your exhaust or other. Hopefully someone [Mark ?] will be able to offer a first hand experience of the road, but if you decided to go for it and things get worse than you thought they would, it is better to turn around then it is to get in a mess.

One description.