Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default San francisco to Austin, Tx

My name is Max, I am a Belgium visiting student. I am currently in Texas, and I am planning to do a roadtrip from SF to Austin. I'll fly there mid august and then I have two weeks to enjoy and come back to Texas!
    I'll be the first WE with a friend in LA and the Canyon, but once I'll be in SF, I'll be by my one.
    I was thinking stay a couple of day in SF then going down to LA (hitch hikinng or taking a bus) I forgot to say I'll do my trip without a personal car, so it will be hitch hiking and taking bus)
    Then go to Phoenix, then Flagstaff to Santa Fe (stop to petrified forest) then stay around Santa fe and head home.
    So I don't know exactly how many day I'll stay for every place, I may be stuck in the desert try to find a car!
    But if you have any suggestion to place to visit or general advise it would be great!
    This will be my 2 last weeks in US, I want to make them Leg...gendary!! ;) no just fun!!

Joplin MO

Are you 21 years old and do you have a driver's license from your home country? If so, you can rent a car. The only problem might be if your license is not in English, in that case having an International Driver's Permit would be advisable. That's simply a translation of your license into about 10 languages. I believe that can only be obtained in your home country.

The reason I ask this is hitchhiking is not advisable in the US.

3. Default

yes I am 21, and I already rent a car in US. I was thinking doing that but as I am only 21 they charge me more. I'll maybe do this the second week from Phoenix.
    If I drop the car at a different place I'll have fee no?
    Do you know a good company for weekly deal?

4. Default

there is a 500$ fee to drop the car :(
    I think I'll change my plan and just stay in California...
    Unless you have other idea?
    I am a big fan of nature do you have advise for California?