Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default driving from west to east with a Honda Civic?

Hey guys! I need your expertise here and any opinions are highly appreciated. I'm planning to drive my Honda Civic 2002 from Washington to Pennsylvania and I'm wondering if I can make it? The mechanic guys said it'll be okay although the car already has 70,000 miles on it. I wonder if the engine is too small and if it can even cross the Rocky Mountain?

Has anyone here done a road trip with their relatively old car? Are the roads really deserted and hotels are hard to find? I'm quite new at this and I wonder how dangerous it will be.

I hope I can make it to Philly in 5-6 days and praying that my civic is drivable. What do you guys thinks?

2. Default

btw, just for clarification, I mean Seattle, Washington and NOT Washington, D.C.

Green County, Wisconsin

Default Trust your mechanic

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

Thousands of cars - even subcompact cars smaller than your civic - drive across this country every day, and driving cross country means going across mountains. The reality is that traveling over the mountains on the interstate highway system really isn't that much more stressful than everyday driving (and is probably easier on a car than stop and go city driving). In other words, if you car isn't able to get across the mountains, then its probably not able to make it across the plains either - but your mechanic has apparently said that's not the case. I'll also say that a 2002 with 70,000 miles is a car that's just starting to get broken-in in my book. My roadtrip vehicle is an 01 with well over 200,000 miles.

For services, on the Interstate it will be extremely rare if you go more than about 40 miles between motels and other services. 5-6 days is about perfect for this trip.

In other words - relax!

4. Default

hahaha thank you much! :) i feel better now because my family's not much of a traveler, themselves, and they've been stressing me out. :)