1. Default Driving from Calgary to Newfoundland

Hi all out there, newbie here. I would really really like to take a road trip this summer from Calgary to the East Coast and I really need some help. This is huge for me, as normally I'm nervous about driving as I would literally get lost in a cul-de-sac. I do have a new GPS so I'm hoping that will come in handy. Geography is another thing I'm lousy at, so I would love to get some help regarding what routes to take for the best sites along the way. I would love to stop in Toronto (shopping), Montreal along the way. I won't be in any hurry. I've wanted to see this beautiful country of Canada for sooo long, and the furthest I've driven is Calgary to Banff, I've been in Canada for 33 years. I'm not getting any younger (God bless me), so I figure now is the time. Any help anyone can give me would be greatly appreciated. By the way I'm female and I'll be travelling alone. Thanks in advance. Irishbernie

Do you want to stay in Canada all the way, or do you want to take part of the trip through the US? There are quite a few ways you can go.

EDIT: The Trans-Canada Highway site is a wealth of information. It should be able to help you plan your trip. I would also recommend you get a good set of paper maps and do not rely solely on a GPS.
    Last edited by glc; 05-30-2010 at 11:16 PM.

3. Default

Quote Originally Posted by glc View Post
    Do you want to stay in Canada all the way, or do you want to take part of the trip through the US? There are quite a few ways you can go.

EDIT: The Trans-Canada Highway site is a wealth of information. It should be able to help you plan your trip. I would also recommend you get a good set of paper maps and do not rely solely on a GPS.
    I'd love to go through the US, hadn't realized that I could. Where's a good place to get paper maps? I hate them things you get a petrol stations. Thanks for replying glc