Default Reno to San Francisco

Hi--I am new at this... looking for ideas for a 2-3 day drive from Reno thru Napa to San Francisco. We are flying from Indy to Reno (one of our favorite spots!) and added a few extra days to rent a car and explore out West. Any ideas of best routes this time of year, best wineries to visit, places to visit/stay along the way, etc.... greatly appreciated! Also-Alcatraz is in the plan. Anybody that's taken the night tour and wants to comment comparison to the day tour??? THANKS!!!

Tucson, AZ

Default Two I'd Do

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

I'm not terribly familiar with that area of California, but a couple of places that would appeal to me if I were driving through, besides the wineries of the Napa Valley would be a bit of history at the Marshall Gold Discovery State Historic Park near Coloma east of Sacramento and, of course, Point Reyes National Seashore before taking the Golden Gate Bridge into San Francisco around sunset.

South of England.

Default Alcatraz.

I have only done a day tour to the Island and loved every moment but I have also read how great the night tours are, whichever you decide I would recommend booking tickets in advance as tours can sell out and it would also save waiting in lengthy queues for tickets. The NPS is the only official place to book your tickets, click this link if you wish to do so.

I have deleted your duplicate thread but noted you are travelling over Memorial Day weekend and would think more reason to book Alcatraz tickets in advance.
    Last edited by Southwest Dave; 05-07-2010 at 02:13 PM. Reason: Added info

4. Default A few more ideas...

Head to Steiner St in S.F. to check out Postcard Row and then to Twin Peaks for the best views of San Francisco but bring a jacket because it can get pretty windy up there. Also, head out to the Marin Headlands if you can. It's the best view of the Golden Gate Bridge plus there's a cool lighthouse there and some old military installations.