1. Default New to America - and roadtrips !

Hi

I'm completely new to all of this - including formus !
    I'm planning a roadtrip with my husband and two children next summer.
    We'll have 26 days ( mainly in August ) to travel from New York to the West coast and back.
    I know I want to see Boston, Niagara Falls, San Diego , Vegas, Grand Canyon, Monument Valley, but i'm a bit concerned that we have no idea about what to see for the 2500 miles in between !
    I don't want to just constantly drive for days and days without substantial stops which capture the interests of the kids
    ( ages 14 and 11 when we travel). Could you help with any good tips to break up the journey please - anything from
    American must-sees to a good old theme park !

Many thanks!

Default Some Overviews

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!