Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Born2Travl Guest

Default Syracuse NY to ?

Hi, all. I'm very new to this thread. But hoping to get some good advice.

We are planning to drive from Syr to Bloomington. I believe it is about 18 hours. We probably will stop 2-3 times. Perhaps in OH and then in IL. Do these stops seem to make sense? I will probably be the only driver. With my kids. So this is why I know I will need to stop about every 6-7 hours to get some rest. Most likely at a motel or something decent. I don't know. This plan is barely in the works. So just looking for ideas.

Default That Should Do It

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

As I read your question, You are really looking at taking three days for the trip with two overnight stops. That would be an excellent pacing for a RoadTrip with children and leave plenty of time each day to make R&R stops as well as, perhaps, a somewhat longer stop each day. Relatively even stops each night would be in roughly Sandusky, OH and Rockford, IL. In both cases, that puts you on the far (west) side of the tow biggest cities on your route, Cleveland and Chicago, so that you won't have to fight the morning commuter traffic the next day. But you will have to be judicious about when to try to navigate these two metropolitan areas the previous afternoon/evening. I'd say if you're approaching them early enough, before 3:00 or so, just drive through and get to your evening's stop. If you're approaching between 4:00 and 6:00 then pull up for dinner and a playground break and let the evening rush hour traffic sort itself out before you cross town.

AZBuck

Default 2 full days

Welcome to the RTA Forum!