1. Default 6 month tour of the usa - advice needed for a newbie!

Hello Everyone,

I will be visiting from the UK to take a 6 month tour around the USA, seeing friends in different cities. spending time by myself and seeing America as i travel. I have briefly put together a trip plan which looks like this:

Start: Dallas - Atlanta - DC - Conneticut - NY- Boston - Ohio - Detroit - Chicago - Seattle - VANCOVER - San Francisco - LA - Las Vagas - New Orleans - Jacksonville - Orlando - Miami

I plan to do this trip over 6 months stopping between 1-3 weeks at each of the above. I've lived in the US for a couple of years, but i've never done anything like this before.

I'm trying to do the trip on a reasonable budget and need as much advice from you experienced veterans as possible!!

I will fly into Dallas start of June, stay with friends there, buy a suitable vehicle here and start the trip from here. I plan to finish the trip in Miami in December where I will sell the vehicle and fly back to the UK. I have a USA Garmin GPS system that I plan to use for the trip. I have a few questions I need advice on:

1) I will need to buy a vehicle suitable for the trip for about $2-3,000. What would be the best make and model to go for that would be most economical, and quite spacious? I'm assuming buying would be a far cheaper option than renting or leasing??

2) What do you estimate the gas would cost for the above trip, and are there any good websites where I can calculate the fuel trip costs from city to city once I've decided what i'm getting?

3) Any suggestions for Insurance, breakdown cover for the vehicle?

4) What other things do I need to consider, take into account, be aware of , need to know?

Thanks you in advance for your time taken to help me in this first step in planning my trip of a lifetime.

I’m sure I will have further questions from your responses,

Green County, Wisconsin

Default difficult to impossible

Welcome to the RTA Forum!