1. Default Solo NY - to the Midwest Suggestions and Advice

Hello, I am looking to leave on a lifetime dream trip from NY next month.

I am in NY and have always wanted to see New Mexico and the national parks. I plan to drive solo, looking to make the trip in 3 weeks. I have never been to NM and I am looking to check that off the list, but if it is going to put me days out of the midwest sights and attractions I would like to see I can leave it for another time, maybe I would do Oregon and loop north instead .After that I would like to wander the Grand Canyon, Wyoming, Yellowstone, Utah, etc and eventually make my way back to NY. I want to drive the desert highways, the road less traveled and remote areas.

I am a photographer so I will be looking for photo opportunities along the way. My main goal is to visit small western towns, eat in the local diners, restaurants, have drinks in the local bars, and really get a flavor of the America you begin to miss living in NY. My question is about suggested routes, attractions, experiences etc...

ANY advice would be much much appreciated, I am going to run a time-lapse camera the entire time and post the video along with images on my blog from the road. Keep posted as I look to leave at the end of April, and I want to thank anyone who replies with advice. I enjoy this website and it is time I contribute.
    Last edited by Mark Sedenquist; 03-28-2010 at 03:11 PM. Reason: I love your photos -- but you need to be a contributing member for a while first!

Default Lurkers Welcome -- Contributors are Favored

Welcome to the Great American RoadTrip Forum -- Today has been a "red-letter day" in terms of the number of lurkers who've joined the road trip community for the first time. Links to personal blogs (even the fabulous ones) are discouraged until you've contributed more.