Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, Australia

Default West Coast, National Parks, May.

First of all, what a great forum. my wife and i have been reading as much as we can for sometime now. We have also been picking everyones brains that we know who has been before us. We arrive from Brisbane on a direct flight at 7am on the 2nd of May. We are picking up a rental car and heading straight for Vegas. I know, i know, we will be tired but excited at the same time. Both are experienced drivers and im a ex interstate truck driver so not a problem. We are staying in vegas for 3 nights at the Flamingo. We then head for Grand Canyon for a night. Not sure where we are staying yet. Would like to go to Monument valley and then Arches but am worried about further down the track when we want to spend more time somewhere. So may give that a miss and head for Zion and Bryce. Have been told by a few that we can see all we want to, driving to the entrance of Zion. What we see driving there is the same as inside and less walking. Wouldnt mind staying there 1 night though and then 2 nights in Bryce. We will then head north to Salt Lake City and stay there or before or after. Dosnt matter. Play it by ear. End up in Yellowstone and spend 3 or 4 nights there. Have a photographer friend that will give us a guided tour around there. Been told to go to Cody as well if we can. From there, we will head across to Salem staying 1 or 2 places on the way. Spend a couple of nights there to catch up with another 2 photographers. From there, head to San Francisco Via Nappa Valley. Depending on how much time we have up our sleeves, we may call into Westwood on the way down. Distant relations. Probably 3 nights in S F and then out to Yosemite for 2 nights. Then back across to the big Sur and down to L A. Fly out at 11pm on the 28th May. We still have spare days in there somewhere to stop somewhere else if we need to but this is a rough itinery. We are both experienced Photo