1. Default Yukon to New Mexico

Hi there,
    I'm a painter based in London. I dream of driving from the Yukon in Canada all the way down the West coast of the United States and then across to New Mexico, stopping and painting along the way. Far too ambitious probably.

I would consider a 2-3 month trip starting September but of course have budget restrictions. My $5000 seems to only be enough for about a month on the road! I do have friends in LA and SanFrancisco but that's about it in terms of free accomodation.

Initially I thought of renting an RV but all the 'extras' seems to make this very expensive. Anyway, there doesn't appear to be a way for me (UK resident) to rent an RV one way from Canada to the US. Perhaps car hire and motel is more reasonable?

Any thoughts? Since I'm probably restricted by budget to a 4/6 week trip what portion of that journey do you recommend - keeping in mind that if I'm stopping along the way to paint pictures I will not make rapid progress!

Green County, Wisconsin

Default budget and restrictions

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

We'll start with the hard part. Doing a one way car rental across the border is virtually impossible - with a car or an rv - for anyone regardless of where your are from. Its not too uncommon to be able to drive a rental in both countries, but you usually can't rent in Canada and drop in the US, or vice versa. There is also the fact that renting a car in the Yukon (one way or round trip) will likely be very expensive simply do to its remote location.

Budgetwise, it will always be cheaper to do a round trip (where you avoid a one way drop off fee) and going with a car/motel is a more budget friendly option than renting an RV. Of course, if you look at the option of tent camping, you could bring down your sleeping costs some more.