Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Moving Jersey to San Diego

I've been reading thru this forum for information on a road trip, so I thought I'd share:

My GF and I (and our cat) are moving from Jersey City to San Diego in April, and plan on taking a liesurely drive cross-country. It is the ideal road trip situation as we have no time constraints and a brand new CRV (although I think 3 weeks will probably be the max we can handle on the road).

Currently, our trip stops are planned as such:

Jersey City > Philly > pit stop at Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater > Cleveland > Chicago > St. Louis > Kansas City > Denver > Grand Canyon > Las Vegas > San Diego

I think the longest leg is KC to Denver so we will probably have to stop short of Denver for the night.

We are more city people, with design backgrounds (i'm an architect, she a graphic designer) so we would love to hear about any cool buildings, museums, restaurants, etc, but also I don't want to disgregard the outdoors either, so any comments, suggestions, or ideas for outdoor stuff is welcome too.

also if anyone has any tips for traveling w/ a cat that would be helpful too (other than the obvious need for pet friendly hotels). =)

My brother went to Falling Water and he also visited another house designed by Frank Lloyd Wright right near there and raved about the other one too (I've been to Falling Water and I loved it too -- not the other one). I don't know the name or where it is, but it is in the Pittsburgh area and I think also open for tours. I know that Frank Lloyd Wright designed a synagogue in one of the suburbs just outside of Philadelphia, Elkins Park. I've never been there, but I've seen pictures and it looks pretty neat. There are a lot of art museums in Philadelphia -- one of the best is the Barnes, which is right outside the city. You need to reserve your ticket a few weeks ahead of time as they only allow a few hundred people in a day.