1. Default NC to Portland OR in March

I've heard I-84 can be pretty bad, but does anyone know what exactly I should expect for March? Also, how is the stretch from Denver to Salt Lake on I-80?
    I have extensive snow driving experience because I'm from Michigan, and some mountain experience but I've never driven in a combination of the two.
    Are chained tires something we need to worry about?
    Any pointers would be appreciated!!

Joplin MO

Predicting the weather is just not possible, but March in general shouldn't be too bad. I wouldn't worry about chains - even with your experience, if the chain signs go up, you should probably find a place to wait it out anyway. Interstate highways, even in mountain areas, are top priority for the state highway departments to keep clear.

Default And...........

........I-80 does not run from DEN to SLC.

As glc noted, the only safe prediction for weather 2 months from now is "GOK" (God Only Knows).

Interstates in the Mountain West feature long grades, but they're of carefully-designed limited gradients and the curve radii are carefully designed (no hairpins/switchbacks). If you're a Michigander, and can take a bit of time to look ahead at conditions (internet, state DOT 511 phone numbers, etc), there is little chance of you driving into a mess.

If you'd exit our home state of NC via I-40, you do know it's closed at the TN line and is likely to remain so until early March, don't you?

Last edited by Foy; 01-14-2010 at 06:22 AM. Reason: NC border closure addenda

4. Default

I'm familiar with I-40 yes, we're going north, and I'm taking I-25 north from Denver to I-80 from cheyenne to salt lake...

I wasn't asking anyone to predict the weather, I was just wondering if anyone here has done that drive in march.

Green County, Wisconsin

Default to be fair