Default September Road Trip from Washington DC to New York City, taking the long way.

Hello all,

My boyfriend and I are planning a four week road trip to the States in September 2010. We're restricted to four weeks mainly because it seems to be the maximum amount of time we can rent a hire car without incurring hefty fees, but also we've decided that for our budget, and realistically, four weeks is a good amount of time for us to explore.

Firstly, we are in our early twenties, we both enjoy big cities, natural scenery, interesting museums, small towns, good food, and nightlife, and most of all music. I studied English literature and American History at University so I obviously have an interest in both of those things, too!

We've previously taken a road trip in California in 2008 for two weeks so are familar with driving long distances/spending not too long in one place and driving automatic vehicles/on the "wrong" side of the road :)

We've printed out a huge map of the area of the states we are interested in and covered our study wall with it. We've mapped out a possible itinerary, which I would appreciate all advice/comments on. I want to make sure that the route we are following makes some sort of sense. We don't want to be tied down to reservations, so will probably only book in advance hotels/motels in major cities. We like the idea of camping, but need to work out whether buying all the camping gear (we wouldn't bring any over with us) would significantly (enough) outweigh the costs of staying in cheap motels. We're used to camping, and although I like the luxury of showers/straightening irons, I can live without for a day or so if need be! We're not really into hostels or shared accomodation though, so that is not an option.

I've spent hours reading these forums, so I hope I am not repeating questions others have asked in the past!

Please see possible itinerary below:

1. Arrive in Washington, DC. Stay here for one night