1. Default March/April Roadtrip Right Across the States!

I'm a student from the UK and have a long easter break in March/April 2010 so my boyfriend and I were hoping to spend around 4 weeks in the USA... I've tried to check out costs / routes etc but thought it might be best to seek out advice from people who are more seasoned travellers or people actually live there so I can get some pointers on must-see places and route advice :)

We'll both be 25, so hoping that hiring a car won't be too extortionate - though we are planning for a one way trip, so I know there'll be a lump sum involved with dropping off. Basically, we're looking to fly into New York, spend a couple of days there and then drive across to LA, but I'm unsure of the route to take - hopefully you guys can help me out with this!

We were originally considering :
    NY - Niagra Falls - Chicago - - - Grand Canyon - Death Valley - ?San Fran - LA

But none of this is really set in stone, other than the start and end points, so I'm open to suggestions! We love scenery (so definitely want to fit in as many national parks as is possible), general sightseeing - out of the way 'oddities' as well as the famous sights etc and we like to be busy.. I know it's a bit of a monster drive, but I love driving and am happy to cover a fair mileage in a day, especially if there's some stop offs en route.

I was just wondering what people would suggest about the iterary (specifically the bit between Chicago and Grand Canyon - should we avoid the northern states as I know it'll still be pretty cold weather-wise?) and whether it's realistic? We don't have a massive budget so we're not looking to be extravagent - cheap motels, eating out of a cooler and free/cheap attractions for the most part.

Sorry for the rambling message - any help would really be appreciated!

2. Default