Default Solo trip from Seattle to Southern CA

hello!
    I'm completely new to this, but so far it's quite a bit of fun for the open-road enthusiast. I'm hoping some expert Pacific Northwest traveler can give me some words of wisdom for traveling from Seattle (UW! GO Huskies!), to California. I'm from CA and hoping to drive down to see my family. I'm not into the "road trip" aspect of things for now I guess. I'm just doing the 5 right on down. But I've done the straight drive from here to LA-ish area round trip about six times, about four times I drove it alone. I've never had a problem doing it all the way through in one day...but I've only done this drive in Spring/Summer months. the southern oregon region/Siskiyous (can anyone really spell that right?), are intimidating for me especially in winter. I drive an '07 focus, so a little car with tiny tires. I know i'll need to carry chains, not too worried about installing them...but my question is how is the ICE? Altitude + cold + I have a hard time not speeding = what are the odds I'll get stuck somewhere? Is it a wise decision to drive it this time of year?Advice for this solo traveller would be most appreciated!

Default Not straight through....

...at any time! Hello and welcome to the RTA forums !

Is it a wise decision to drive it this time of year?
    With the right amount of time and attitude towards the trip then driving is fine, but if you intend to drive well over a thousand miles non stop while struggling with yourself to keep at a safe speed I would recommend you take an alternative mode of transport.

This a 2 day trip in good conditions and if there is a winter storm that would require chains on Interstate you would be better off sitting it out for a few hours while the road crews do their job of making it safe.