1. Default I NEED ADVICE! January road trip - Carmel to Death Valley

Hi all

I'm new to this, so please excuse any idiocy on my part.

I'm doing a mini road trip in California in January and although I've visited a few times before, I've never been in the winter, so I was hoping for a bit of advice from you seasoned RoadTrippers. I'm also coming with my girlfriend who has never visited the USA, so I was hoping to show her some of your amazing country

I'm spending a few days in San Francisco before driving to Carmel.

I then wanted to drive to San Simeon, visit Hearst Castle and drive over to a hotel near Sequoia National Park all in the one day (about 250 miles I think) and I was wondering whether that is too much given the distance and driving conditions at that time of year.

The plan is to visit General Sherman early the next day and then set off in the direction of Death Valley. I know the roads across Sequoia will probably be closed by snow, so I was hoping someone might be able to provide me with a decent route to DV, even if it entails staying outside of the Valley and driving in the following day (when I'd also have to continue my journey to Vegas)

Am I being overly ambitious?

To recap:
    Day 1 Carmel to San Simeon to Sequoia
    Day 2 Sequoia to Death Valley
    Day 3 Death Valley to Las Vegas

Thanks in advance

DDM

Default It's all dependent upon the weather

Quote Originally Posted by dundeeman View Post
    I'm doing a mini road trip in California in January
    The times and distances of your route is reasonable -- but the big variable is the weather. The Big Sur had a couple of major wildfires this year and if the rains come in January (normal) the road may be closed, in a few places, due to mud slides.
    I then wanted to drive to San Simeon, visit Hearst Castle and drive over to a hotel near Sequoia National Park all in the one day