1. Default Driving from LA to Chicago in November: Need Advice Please

I am planning on moving to Chicago so I'll be driving from Los Angeles to Chicago sometime between the 15th-30th of November. I am doing the trip alone and I would really appreciate suggestions on routes, stopping points etc. I've never done a long road trip before.

My concern was given the time of the year, weather conditions/ etc, what route should I take. I am driving a 2001 honda accord coupe, its in good shape. I'm not under any time restriction but i would like to get to chicago in 3-4 days and also see some cool/scenic stuff on the way there and make it a memorable trip!

Would appreciate any suggestions/advice that you can share! Thank You!

Green County, Wisconsin

Default reality of the road

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

You really need 4 days just to make this trip at a responsible pace. Even that will require you to be on the road for 10 hours a day. You'll be able to make some quick stops at things close to your route, but you really won't have time to go too far off the main route. That also assumes you don't have any significant weather delays. If you really want to see things and have time to explore more than what's right off the highway, then I'd recommend at least a 5th day.

Your 3 basic choices for route are to take I-40, I-44, and I-55, following the path of route 66 through OK City and St. Louis. Your other options are to go up I-15 and then take either I-70 across through Denver going through the spectacular rocky mountains, or continuing up to Salt Lake City, and taking I-80 east.

Any or all of the routes could see winter weather in November, but there just is no telling at this point what the conditions will be like during the specific time you will be traveling.

3. Default Driving from LA to Chicago in November: Need Advice Please