1. Default Hello. Newbie here. No questions just yet...

Hi, thought I'd say hello as I'm sure I'll be tugging at everyone's shirt sleeves for help and advice ahead of next year's roadtrip.

Just started looking at the forums, and there's bucket-loads of information in here, so no point in me asking questions just yet until I've browsed through it all. I've bored everyone at work now with my plans, so I'll inflict them on you too.

My partner, Rachel, and I have now booked our tickets to America for our big trip in September 2010. We're in the UK, and it's been about 15 years or so since I was last in the USA.

We're flying to LA, a day in Anaheim (managed to nag Rachel into allowing a day at Disney), then a couple of days in Los Angeles. Train from there to San Francisco. After a day's sightseeing there, we're getting the hire car. Then:
    1st night - Napa Valley
    2 - South Lake Tahoe
    3 - Sonoma (for an early start for Yosemite)
    4 - Mammoth Falls
    5 - Furnace Creek
    6 - Springdale (for Zion)
    7 - Rubys Inn (for Bryce Canyon)
    8 - Torrey (for Capitol Reef)
    9 - Somewhere between Torrey and Kayenta, the name of which escapes me
    10 - Kayenta (for Monument Valley)
    11 - Grand Canyon Village
    12 - Prescott

Then a few days spending the rest of our money in Vegas. It's a bit of an unoriginal routing, I reckon, but I reckon it'll be a great trip.

It will mean being on the road during Labor Day - never been in the US for that day, so not really sure whether anything will be open, or what happens on that day. From what I can see it seems to be mostly around American Football.

So - the itinerary is pretty much sorted. I think the hotels we're going to be staying at will make us pretty good friends with Best Western hotels. Probably see most of you out there on the road.

Green County, Wisconsin

Default welcome

Welcome to the RTA Forum!