1. Default The North East road trip

Hi all,

Along with a few friends I am hoping to travel to the states (from London) towards the end of May 2010 and go on a bit road trip.

The current idea is to spend about 16-18 days (including flights) travelling between Washington DC, Atlantic City, Boston, Toronto and Chicago, spending about 2-3 days in each location and visiting places in between. We are hoping to fly into one location, hire a car and then fly out of another location.

I have left New York out as I'm under the impression that it's the kind of place you'd visit as a separate city break.

Firstly does this sound like a reasonable trip? Where I have little knowledge of this side of the states I'm listing areas that I think would be fun with lots to do and see simply on name and reputation.

We will all be 25-26 and will obviously be looking to have a fair few nights out on the town as well, but also want to try and see as much as possible whilst we're out there.

Any suggestions/recommendations would be gratefully received.

Green County, Wisconsin

Default options

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

Personally, If you're going to do a trip through the Northeast, especially one that focuses on cities, then I would make sure NY is part of your plan. You won't be able to see everything of course, (which is also true of every other city on your list), but you can always come back at some point and try to do more. It would just seem silly to go through NY and not stop.

I also might hold off on renting a car, at least until you get out of the NE corridor. Parking and Traffic can be real issues in DC-NY-Bost, but they all have decent mass-transit options both in the cities, and between them. I'd plan to take the train between those cities. Then if you want to rent a car and head west to Toronto and Chicago, that might make more sense and would quite likely be a lot cheaper.

Western/Central Massachusetts

Default Worth the trip